WHITEHORSE – Affiliates of the Yukon Federation of Labour (YFL) have acclaimed Vikki Quocksister of the Canadian Union of Postal Workers as President, while adding new members to the executive board and executive council.

Quocksister, who previously served in an interim role after the departure of Don Austin in June of 2012, is excited about the renewed mandate and new executive members.

“The new executive reflects an incredible diversity of age, gender, ethnicity, experience, and most importantly, workplaces,” said Quocksister. “This will be a great group to work with, and I’m excited to move forward on Yukon’s social and economic issues with these sisters and brothers over the next three years.”

Delegates from the Canadian Union of Postal Workers Local 852, the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Locals 1574 and 993, the Public Service Alliance of Canada, Unifor (Canadian Auto Workers), the United Association of Plumbers, Pipefitters, Sheet Metal and Hospitality Workers Local 310, United Steelworkers District 3, and the Yukon Employees’ Union voted to elect the executive board last Saturday afternoon, while internal caucuses of the unions elect their executive council representatives.
Two additional council spots are reserved for the equity and youth caucuses.

Quocksister said she intends to get the group to work immediately to streamline and implement the strategic direction of the YFL.

“There is an important role to be filled by the YFL in the Yukon and in Canada. We will speak up for the rights of working families, we will support First Nations in their goals of self-governance and rights to the land, and we will speak out against human rights abuses of any and all kinds,” said Quocksister. “We have a lot to do, and I’m very pleased we have the right group to lead this effort.”

• President – Vikki Quocksister
• 1st Vice-President – Justin Lemphers
• 2nd Vice-President – Ron Rousseau
• Secretary – Bud McCue
• Treasurer – Sue Christiansen

• Doug Trombley
• Wade Kopan
• Steve Geick
• Mathew Magoffin
• Geordo Matechuk
• Mark Bowers
• Stephen Horton
• Kathren Traplin
• Richard Wagner